St. Petersburg
State Symphony

Orchestra Classica

Artistic & Principal

Alexander KANTOROV

12 ноября

Concert Series "Works of Carl August Nielsen"

Carl Nielsen. Complete Symphonies. The 150th anniversary of the composer.

Saint-Petersburg State Orchestra "Classica" in collaboration with Danish Cultural Institute in Saint Petersburg proudly present a series of concerts "Works of Carl August Nielsen".

This cycle of concerts will take place at the Small Hall of the Saint-Petersburg Philharmonia during the concert season 2015/2016 from December 2015 till May 2016.

Year 2015 is rich with music related anniversaries – jubilees of great composers P. Tchaikovsky, G. Sviridov, J. Strauss (Jr.), J. Sibelius are celebrated.

A very special date is a 150th anniversary of Carl Nielsen.

This project is quite unique, because work of the greatest Danish composer is rarely performed in Russia. The goal here is to present Nielsen's work in a most full measure. He is especially noted for his six symphonies and all of them will be presented to the audience of St. Petersburg by Orchestra "Сlassica" and Maestro Alexander Kantorov.

The first performance in the cycle already took place at the 25th of September during the gala event – Opening of the "Nordic Weeks" in St. Petersburg (which also became an opening of the concert season for Orchestra "Classica"). The Performance of Nielsen's Symphony No. 3 "Sinfonia Espansiva" (with the soloists of the Mariinsky Theatre Svetlana Kiselyova and Vladimir Tselebrovsky) became the highlight of the evening and was received enthusiastically by the audience.

The concert schedule for the «Works of Carl August Nielsen» is following:

December 2nd 2015


Sibelius – Valse Triste; Suite for orchestra "King Christian II"

Nielsen – Symphony № 4


January 28th 2016



P. Tchaikovsky – Serenade for Strings; The Snow Maiden

Nielsen – Symphony № 1


February 16th 2016



Beethoven - Overture to the Opera “Egmont”

Weber - Overture to the Opera “Oberon”

Rossini - Overture to the Opera «Il barbiere di Siviglia»

Verdi  - Overture to the Opera « La Forza del Destino »

Nielsen - Symphony № 2


April 26th 2016



Antonín Dvořák - The Slavonic Dances

Brahms – Hungarian Dances

Nielsen - Symphony № 5


May 14th 2016


Nielsen - Symphony № 6

Haydn - Symphony № 45 («Farewell»)