St. Petersburg
State Symphony

Orchestra Classica

Artistic & Principal
Conductor

Alexander KANTOROV

Orchestra

 

Founded in 1992, The St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra Classica was initially a chamber ensemble made up of graduates from St. Petersburg’s state conservatories and winners of international competitions.  Today, more than seventy musicians work for us.  The young ensemble is developing dynamically, its artistry has won the popularity and love of its listeners, and the approval of the music profession.

Orchestra Classica follows in the steps of the best of St. Petersburg’s musical tradition.  At the base of the ensemble’s repertoire is the heritage of ‘St. Petersburg’s Classics’ — Borodin, Mussorgsky, Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, Glazunov, Liadov, Stravinsky and also the works of composers from abroad — from Mozart to Mahler.

The ensemble is not limited to a merely symphonic programme but often joins the singers of the Marinsky Theatre in the performances of operas such as Mozart’s “The Marriage of Figaro”, “Cavalleria Rusticana” of Mascagni, “La Sonnambula” of Bellini, “The Pearl Fishers” of Bizet, “Samson and Delilah” of Saint-Saens, “The Barber of Seville” of Rossini and “Eugene Onegin” if Tchaikovsky. The ensemble also performs with St. Petersburg’s ballet troupes in stagings of Tchaikovsky’s “Swan Lake”, “Sleeping Beauty”, “The Nutcracker” and Adam’s “Giselle”.

Classica regularly appears in St. Petersburg’s State Bolshoi and Maly Concert Halls, and also Colonnade Hall of the A.I. Herzen Pedagogical University.  The ensemble has toured Great Britain, Italy, Germany, Finland, The United States, Canada and Japan.

In 1996, Orchestra Classica appeared in Finland with Placido Domingo.  The prominent musician remarked: “St. Petersburg brought an unexpected and pleasant surprise – the young Symphony Orchestra Classica, which accompanied me at a concert in Turku... The majority of the musicians were young, but played superbly. They laid bare all their soul, their emotions in the performance of classical music.  I believe that the creativity of the Orchestra Classica will enrich the cultural life of St. Petersburg and all Russia, and I send my best wishes to this young ensemble, the Maestro and especially the St. Petersburg audience.”

At the orchestra’s appearance in Great Britain, the influential London newspaper The Independent noted the delightful performance of the music of “Sleeping Beauty” in its pages.  “This orchestra would have made Tchaikovsky proud.” — one Belfast newspaper estimated.

The label “Melodia” has issued compact discs of Orchestra Classica: “The P.I. Tchaikovsky Festival”, “Symphonic Dances”, “Symphonic Waltzes”, “The Symphonies of Mozart” and Handel’s Oratory “St. Cicilia”.

Государственный
Санкт-Петербургский
симфонический

Оркестр «КЛАССИКА»

Художественный
руководитель,
главный дирижер

Александр КАНТОРОВ

Оркестр

 

Государственный Санкт-Петербургский Симфонический Оркестр «Классика» был основан в 1992 году. Перво­начально это был камерный коллектив, состоящий из выпускников Санкт-Петербургской государственной консерватории, дипломантов международных конкур­сов. Сегодня здесь работает более 70 музыкантов. Молодой коллектив динамично развивается, его ис­кусство завоевало популярность и любовь слушателей, одобрение профессионалов.

Оркестр «Классика» следует лучшим традициям музыкального Петербурга. Основу репертуара коллек­тива составляет наследие «петербургских классиков» — Бородина, Мусоргского, Чайковского, Римского-Корсакова, Глазунова, Лядова, Стравинского, а также произ­ведения зарубежных композиторов — от Моцарта до Малера.

Не ограничиваясь исполнением чисто симфони­ческих программ, оркестр совместно с певцами Мариинского театра исполнял оперы «Свадьба Фигаро» Мо­царта, «Сельская честь» Масканьи, «Сомнамбула» Бел­лини, «Искатели жемчуга» Бизе, «Самсон и Далила» Сен-Санса, «Севильский цирюльник» Россини, «Евгений Онегин» Чайковского и др., а с участием петербургских балетных трупп — балеты Чайковского («Лебединое озеро», «Спящая красавица», «Щелкунчик») и «Жизель» Адана.

Концерты оркестра «Классика» регулярно прохо­дят в Большом и Малом залах Санкт-Петербургской государственной филармонии имени Д. Д. Шостаковича, а также Колонном зале Педагогического университета имени А. И. Герцена. Коллектив гастролировал в Великобритании, Италии, Германии, Финляндии, США, Канаде, Японии.

В 1996 году в Финляндии оркестр «Классика» выступал с Пласидо Доминго. Выдающийся музыкант отметил: «Санкт-Петербург преподнес мне неожиданный и приятный сюрприз — молодой симфонический оркестр «Классика», который аккомпанировал мне на концерте в Турку... Большинство музыкантов еще молоды, но уже превосходно играют. Они вкладыва­ют всю душу, эмоции в исполнение классической музыки. Я уверен, творчество оркестра «Классика» обогатит культурную жизнь Санкт-Петербурга и всей России, и я шлю мои наилучшие пожелания молодому коллективу, Маэстро и особенно петербургским слушате­лям».

Во время выступлений оркестра в Великобритании влиятельная газета «Independent» отметила на своих страницах прекрасное исполнение музыки «Спящей красавицы». «Таким оркестром гордился бы сам Чайковский», - так оценила его выступление одна из газет Белфа­ста.

На фирме «Мелодия» оркестром «Классика» записаны компакт-диски: «Фестиваль П. И. Чайковского», «Симфонические танцы», «Симфонические вальсы», «Симфонии Моцарта» и оратория Гендель «Святая Цецилия».