St. Petersburg
State Symphony

Orchestra Classica

Artistic & Principal
Conductor

Alexander KANTOROV

Alexander Kantorov

  • Artistic & Principal Conductor, Russian Artist of National Distinction, Alexander Kantorov
  • Russian Artist of National Distinction, Alexander Kantorov was born in the city of Leningrad in 1947.  He completed his studies at the Rimsky-Korsakov State Conservatory of Music first, under Prof. M. Vaiman, in classical violin and then, under Prof. I. Musin, in classical orchestral direction.  He began his directorial career leading the Sverdlovsk (now Ekaterinburg) Symphony Orchestra.

    In 1992, Alexander Kantorov founded his ensemble under the name “St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra ‘Classica’”, becoming its artistic director and principal conductor.

    Keeping his professional cards close to his chest and preserving the breadth of his directorial repertoire, Alexander Kantorov pursues actively his artistic and educational mission.  He is the artistic director of the Sochi Music Festival.  Reviving the tradition of ‘St. Petersburg’s Musical Seasons’ (whose first concert season was in 1951 under the baton of E. Mravinsky), Orchestra Classica gives concerts in the superb Summer Theatre of our city.  At the base of his ensemble, the conductor leads master classes for young native and foreign conductors.

    For many years Alexander Kantorov has been bringing to life his programme of dissimulating the world of classical culture to university and school students.  His efforts rested in founding the course “Introduction to Classical Music” the Alexander Herzen Pedagogical University, where the maestro is a professor.  He also regularly leads concerts for the school students of the city under the title “Let’s Grow Up Happy!”  Maestro Kantorov has been awarded the ‘Distinguished Service Medal’ of the United States of America for his cycle of educational concerts for American youth, which has now met an enthusiastic response in Great Britain.

    In March of 2004 Alexander Kantorov was given the honorary title ‘Waltz-King of St. Petersburg.  The crown, as a symbol of this honour, was bestowed upon the composer Andrei Petrov, a citizen of St. Petersburg.

Государственный
Санкт-Петербургский
симфонический

Оркестр «КЛАССИКА»

Художественный
руководитель,
главный дирижер

Александр КАНТОРОВ

Александр Канторов

  • Художественный руководитель, главный дирижер Заслуженный артист России маэстро Александр Канторов
  • Заслуженный артист России Александр КАНТОРОВ родился в 1947 году в Ленинграде. Окончил Ленинградскую государственную консерваторию имени Н.А.Римского-Корсакова по классу скрипки (профессор М.Вайман), а затем по классу симфонического дирижирования (профессор И.Мусин). Начал карьеру дирижера, возглавив Свердловский симфонический ор­кестр.

    В 1992 году Александр Канторов основал в Ленинграде свой коллектив, ныне - Государственный Санкт-Петербургский Симфонический Оркестр «Классика», став его художественным руково­дителем и главным дирижером.

    Профессионально владея «тайнами» оркестрового исполнительства и обладая обшир­ным дирижерским репертуаром, Александр Канторов активно осуществляет свои художественные и просветительские задачи. Он - художественный руководитель музыкального фестиваля в Сочи. Возрождая традиции Петербургских Музыкальных Сезонов (первый концерт сезонов состоялся еще в 1951 году под руководством Е.Мравинского), оркестр «Классика» дает кон­церты в замечательном Летнем театре этого города. На базе своего коллектива дирижер проводит мастер-классы для молодых отечественных и зарубежных дирижеров.

    Много лет дирижер Александр Канторов проводит в жизнь свою программу приобщения студентов и школьников к миру классического искусства. Его разработки легли в основу курса «Введение в музыкальную классику» Российского педагогического университета имени Алек­сандра Герцена, где он является профессором. Маэстро регулярно проводит для школьников города концерты под девизом «Вырастим поколение счастливых!» Канторов награжден меда­лью США «За заслуги» за проведения цикла образовательных концертов для американской молодежи, ныне его инициатива нашла живой отклик и в Великобритании.

    В марте 2004 года Александр Канторов был удостоен почетного звания «Король вальсов Санкт-Петербурга». Корону - символ этого звания - ему вручил почетный гражданин Санкт-Петербурга - композитор Андрей Петров.